New RoHS2 Phthalate Substance Restrictions

Starting in July, 2019 the following four phthalates will be added to the list of restricted substances under EU RoHS 2 (Directive 2011/65/EU), which restricts the use of certain hazardous substances in electrical and electronic equipment in the European Union.

  • Bis(2-Ethylhexyl) phthalate (DEHP): max 0.1%;

  • Benzyl butyl phthalate (BBP): max 0.1%;

  • Dibutyl phthalate (DBP): max 0.1%;

  • Diisobutyl phthalate (DIBP): max 0.1%.

These four materials are traditionally used as plastic softeners and will no longer be allowed for use in electrical and electronic equipment apart from Category 8 (medical devices) as of July 22, 2019. DEHP, BBP, DBP and DIBP will also be restricted from Category 9 (monitoring and control equipment) by July 22, 2021.